top of page

Long Beach Bar Foundation Scholarship Fund

For College-Bound High School Seniors 


The Long Beach Bar Association is proud to award scholarships to high achieving, college-bound high school students from across Long Beach in order to make their financial burden more manageable.


This scholarship fund is one of the many ways the Long Beach Bar Association seeks to give back to our community. If you are a member of the Long Beach Bar Association and would like to join the Scholarship Committee to select next year's award recipients, please visit the Committees page



Awards Dinner 

We're happy to announce that this year's Scholarship Awards Dinner will take place on the evening of May 30th at the El Dorado Park Golf Course!

We are looking forward to  honoring our finalists and awarding their scholarships. Stay tuned for news of the ticket sale!

Applicant Information

If you are a high school senior from the class of 2024 who would like to apply for the Long Beach Bar Association Scholarship, the deadline has been extended to March 15th. Please click the button below to learn more!

Support the Fund


For more information on donating to our Scholarship Fund and on our Donor Incentives please use the "Donate" button below. To learn more or join us at our next fundraiser please visit our  Events" page.

Scholarship Fund History -

In Support of Education

By Alison Flowers


Some of the core values of the Long Beach Bar Association are knowledge, collegiality, and service to the community.  In upholding these values, the Bar has provided recognition and distinction to local students for their scholarly accomplishments.  As Walt Disney stated, “Our greatest natural resource is the minds of our children.”


On December 18, 1958, the Law Day Committee recommended that a scholarship be established. Since then the Bar has been awarding high-achieving, college-bound high school students from across Long Beach with scholarships in order to make the financial burden of higher education more manageable.  Over the years, recipients of the Bar’s scholarships have included promising students who later went on to become prominent members of the community. Some of these recipients include a local councilman, a senior executive with the Port of Long Beach, a community developer fighting for affordable housing, graduates of ivy league schools, and innumerable other valuable professionals.  


In providing these scholarships, the Bar has awarded over $500,000 to these worthy students during the tenure of the Scholarship Program.  A dinner is also held in honor of these remarkable students to further demonstrate the Bar’s support and encouragement.


As the cost of education increases, it becomes more and more essential that students are provided with the tools needed to succeed.  In the 59th year of the Scholarship Program and the centennial year, the Bar awarded $55,000 in scholarships to fourteen Long Beach high school seniors, which was the largest award of scholarships in the history of the Program.  In addition, the Bar created a Centennial Endowment Scholarship fund with an initial funding of over $50,000 in recognition of the Bar’s first 100 years.  


The Scholarship Program is one of the ways in which the Bar gives back to the community.  The generosity of sponsors and donors throughout Long Beach also makes possible this contribution to the education and future of Long Beach’s aspiring youth.  















2023 Scholarship Recipients

Krista Camarillo - Lakewood 

Jennifer Chang - Millikan 

Pedro De La Torre - Poly 

Vynus Gliane - Cabrillo 

Brandon Hernandez - CAMS 

Danielle Jackson - Millikan 

Lili Leikam - Lakewood 

Yina Marin - McBride 

Oluebube Onwudiwe - CAMS 

Isaias Perez - Poly 

Matthew Riley – Avalon


2022 Scholarship Recipients

Sofia Ascencio - Millikan 

Antonia Bareford - St. Anthony's

Ruth Bishay - Millikan

Worren Booth - Lakewood

Erin Chim - McBride

Hebah Halibi - Poly

Virginia Hernandez - Avalon

Anouska Ortiz - Poly

Julia Sutedjo - Poly 

Anthony Valdespino - McBride


2019 Scholarship Recipients

Brooke Borders - Lakewood
Drew Buchanon - Wilson
Evan Coulter - Millikan
Shanaya Daughtrey - Lakewood
Sergio Diaz - Cabrillo
Esmeralda Garcia-Castellanos - Poly
Mark Leonardo Gliane - Cabrillo
Giovanni Longino - McBride
Elizabeth Matos - Poly
Carolina Newton - Wilson
Nayeli Santa Cruz - St. Anthony’s
Erin Shin - Poly
John Sucro - Cabrillo
Caris White - Poly
Isaiah Williams - Millikan


2017 Scholarship Recipients


Elika Asis - Lakewood

Brandon Cramer - McBride

Cassidy Hunt - Poly

Aitana Jordan- Wilson

Brittany Kealoha - Millikan

Sara Knippa - Poly

Taylor Logan - Wilson

Daniel Martinez - St. Anthony’s

Cesar Mena - Lakewood

Pablo Moraga - Wilson

Leigha Onwu - Cabrillo

Isabella Peres - Lakewood

Adonis Rubio - Wilson

Jao San Agustin - Cabrillo

2018 Scholarship Recipients


Alexa Ara - Wilson

Bryanna Becerra - Poly

Lauren Calderon - Poly

Drew Jones - Lakewood

Samantha Kerns - Lakewood

Joy McQueary - St. Anthony’s

Andela Misic - Wilson

Julia Pecego - Poly

Gracelyn Pham - CAMS

Samera Raqueno - Cabrillo

Rebecca Remple - Milikan

Vanessa Rivera Hernandez - Poly

Cindy Sahagun - Wilson

Cadence Stringer - Wilson

Vincent You - Milikan


2016 Scholarship Recipients


Aunica Cesena, Wilson

 Macy Chang, Wilson

Nicholas Cornejo, Millikan

Charles Guinto, St. Anthony

Melina Lopez, Lakewood

Benjamin Neal, Poly

Sherese Onwu, Cabrillo

Dawn Perkins, Renaissance

Matthew Rios, CAMS

Timothy White, Poly


bottom of page